How I Met Your Mother


1013909_10201658509170864_683913115_n

Mikhaila just days Old

She was barefoot on a skateboard clumsily swinging her leg trying to negotiate the unleval sidewalk in front of her. A long, almost Victorian looking sun dress covered her completely from her neck to her ankles. Unruly blonde, curly hair fell wildly from her head down to the middle of her back. She had so much hair that it made her head seem disproportionately huge compared to the rest of her body. Even from across the street the distinct cackle of her laughter could be heard loudly as she rode awkwardly down the sidewalk. I had never seen anyone like her in my entire life. I was fascinated. “Who is that? ” I asked my friend Sid. “I think her name is Sarah. They just moved in to that house across the street,” he said.  Without even thinking about it, I got up from where I was sitting on Sid’s front lawn and walked across the street toward her. I barely heard my friend Gary behind me say, “Dude, don’t mess with that,” as I ignored his plea and continued on my mission to investigate this strange anomole. “Hi,” I said. She looked up at me and I saw the bluest eyes I’ve ever seen. A large Roman nose sat predominantly in the middle of her face and below that, her exagerrated  mouth which reminded me of that mouth with the tongue on the cover of the Rolling Stones album. She wasn’t particularly beautiful in the classic sense of the word, she had such a unique appearance that i couldn’t help but stare. I was drawn to her. She intrigued me. Nothing else mattered but getting closer to her. Nothing else existed in that instant except her and me and the space between us. Everything was completely silent save her voice and the beat of my heart.  “Can I bum a cigarette?” she asked, holding the skateboard at her side. “Sure”, I replied reaching into my front jeans pocket and producing a cigarette box with only two left. I took both out, put them in my mouth and lit them at the same time. I then took one of them and offered it to her. “we smoke the same kind,” she said. Benson & Hedges Delux Ultra Light Menthol 100’s in a hard pack. What are the odds? I could have never realized then just how much this girl would impact the rest of my life. It was from that day forward that my world would never be the same.

What Do You Think? Please Leave a Reply!

